Empire of the Moon

image
Info
  • Music brings me out of a malaise – a malaise born from a distinct lack of motivation to continue…

    …this…

    I do understand that it’s not for naught – that the experience of writing deeply impresses the experience of living – and that in part reenergizes me, to continue…

    …this.

    A midnight stroll by Mono Lake – a full moon hanging overhead a wonderful contrast to the rising empire of the sun I viewed cresting over the lake just 18 hours earlier. The peaceful silence is yet another contrast to the cresting cacophony of dawn. Calm water reflects a dramatic, cloud-filled sky.

    And the tufas…

    …they silently project their calcified presence upward, another stark contrast to the soft, pillowy ether-substance of the backlit heaven.

    Standing among these stone towers, I relax and absorb it all, ruminating on the final contrast of this still evening sojourn to the hectic movement of day.

