…or maybe I don’t see

image
Info
  • How does an image capture attention? What makes it special or unique? To me, it’s always been some sort of connection I can make, whether it serves as a reminder of a past memory, perhaps touching on a poignant event or even hitting on the scent of a personal emotion…

    20090404-141122-Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XSi-2456 x 4046

    This struck me recently as I noticed a particular image has garnered far more attention relative to the others. I try to look at this objectively and think if I see anything special. While I like it, hence posting it, figuring out how it garners attention has eluded me.

    20090404-140023-Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XSi-2570 x 4104

    The picture, taken in the Mojave Desert, is of rays of light shining through holes in the surface, piercing the darkness of these underground lava tubes. The air is still upon entering, but in short order the fine dust kicked up by our shuffling about fills the room. Luckily, I already had my shots before the dust makes the scene a completely blurry mess.

    20090404-141133-Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XSi-2848 x 4272

    Taken with a Rebel XSi, they serve as a reminder that expensive hardware is not always the path to better photos. The camera is a tool, some offering greater features that increase the envelope by which it’s possible to capture images.  In this particular circumstance, what I had was adequate to capture what I saw.

    20090404-140932-Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XSi-2848 x 4272

     …though, I admit, I still don’t see.

