movie review (OR IS IT)

image
Info
  • I’ve always been a sort of audio/video/techo-nerd. Not necessarily declaring it unabashedly but more along the lines of integrating these various pieces into life. Of course, I’m not alone in my enthusiasm for such things…

    I’ve had a chance to catch up on films. While I enjoy the big screen and cinema-watching experience, my past professional life exposed me to the inner working of the making of entertainment media.

    It ain’t pretty.

    I recall, during the production of Van Helsing (the game), I was able to view dailies (unedited takes of that particular day’s shooting) of the same film. Watching Hugh Jackman perform dozens of takes of the same scene brought home how movies (and actors) can look and perform so good. If only I had a chance to re-enact life moments…oh, how different (and smoothly) life would flow!

    Either way, some of the shine of Hollywood dimmed a bit and now, while I can still be excited by the upcoming release of certain movies, it’s increasingly difficult to pull myself out of the house to…endure…the cinema experience. So, it was with some joy that I looked forward to installing a home theater, of sorts – a simple one, but suitably fortified with 7.1 surround sound and a 120″ screen. Blu-ray content provides just the level of quality needed.

    So, this is my long-winded way of saying – I’ve watched some movies at home. It’s a little on the nose and perhaps clichéd to write a post that screams, “MOVIE REVIEW,” so I’ll just start by getting a list down of films recently watched and perhaps, at some future point in time, I may take a photo that captures a semblance of the emotion of said film and feel a stirring need to write about it.

    Tree of Life
    Black Swan
    Moon
    Rise of the Planet of the Apes
    Thor
    Cars 2
    The Pacific

